Area of a trapezoid. Reducing to the area of a rectangle

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 1.7 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 601.4 KB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 1.4 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

Area of a trapezoid equals a product of the arithmetic mean of its bases' lengths and its height. Or, to put it short, ”half a sum of the bases times the height”.

This formula can be illustrated (or derived if it was forgotten) using the formula for the area of a rectangle. To do so, the trapezoid should be cut in such a way that the parts rearranged form a rectangle.

Drop the altitudes to the longer base at the midpoints of trapezoid's legs and then cut the trapezoid along the altitudes. Attach the two cut off right triangles's hypothenuses to the remaining parts of the legs. The shape obtained is a rectangle.

One of the rectangle's sides is as long as $h$ — the trapezoid's height. Sum of two other sides' lengths equals sum of the trapezoid's bases' lengths, thus one side is as long as half of that sum, that is $(a+b)/2$. So the triangle's area, and so the area of the initial trapezoid, equals $ S = (a+b) / 2 \cdot h$.

To prove that completely one still should make sure that the shape obtained after rearranging the triangles is indeed a rectangle — each short side and each composed long side is a line segment, and the corresponding lines are parallel. The fact that the angles obtained are right is provided by the cutting method itself — cuts are made along the altitude perpendicular to the base.

A model can be manufactured from an approximately 10 mm thick wooden board. It is convenient to attach the cut off triangles to the remaining part of the trapezoid with magnets: these should be put in the triangles' catheti, so that the original trapezoid can be obtained, as well as in the hypothenuses — so that the rectangle can be obtained.

Пло­щадь тра­пе­ции. Све­де­ние к пло­ща­ди пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка

Видео
Скачать
AVI video (768×576, 1.7 МБ)
MP4 video (768×576, 601.4 КБ)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 1.4 МБ)

00:00|00:00

Изображения

Пло­щадь тра­пе­ции рав­на про­из­ве­де­нию по­лу­сум­мы длин ос­но­ва­ний на дли­ну вы­со­ты. Или, ко­ро­че, «по­лу­сум­ме ос­но­ва­ний на вы­со­ту».

Про­ил­лю­стри­ро­вать эту фор­му­лу, а, ес­ли она за­бы­та, вы­ве­сти, мож­но вос­поль­зо­вав­шись фор­му­лой вы­чис­ле­ния пло­ща­ди пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка. Для это­го необ­хо­ди­мо раз­ре­зать тра­пе­цию так, чтобы из по­лу­чен­ных ча­стей со­став­лял­ся пря­мо­уголь­ник.

Про­ве­дём из се­ре­дин бо­ко­вых сто­рон тра­пе­ции пер­пен­ди­ку­ля­ры на длин­ное ос­но­ва­ние и раз­ре­жем вдоль них тра­пе­цию. От­ре­зан­ные два пря­мо­уголь­ных тре­уголь­ни­ка при­ло­жим ги­по­те­ну­за­ми к остав­шим­ся ча­стям бо­ко­вых сто­рон. По­лу­чен­ная фигу­ра яв­ля­ет­ся пря­мо­уголь­ни­ком.

Дли­на од­ной па­ры сто­рон пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка сов­па­да­ет с дли­ной $h$ вы­со­ты тра­пе­ции. Сум­ма длин двух дру­гих сто­рон рав­на сум­ме длин ос­но­ва­ний тра­пе­ции, а, зна­чит, дли­на од­ной сто­ро­ны рав­на по­лу­сум­ме длин ос­но­ва­ний, то есть $(a+b)/2$. Та­ким об­ра­зом, пло­щадь пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка, а зна­чит и пло­щадь ис­ход­ной тра­пе­ции, рав­на $ S = (a+b) / 2 \cdot h$.

Для пол­но­го до­ка­за­тель­ства сле­ду­ет ещё убе­дить­ся, что по­лу­чив­ша­я­ся по­сле пе­ре­кла­ды­ва­ния тре­уголь­ни­ков фигу­ра в дей­стви­тель­но­сти яв­ля­ет­ся пря­мо­уголь­ни­ком — каж­дая бо­ко­вая сто­ро­на и со­став­ное ос­но­ва­ние яв­ля­ют­ся пря­мы­ми ли­ни­я­ми, а со­от­вет­ству­ю­щие сто­ро­ны па­рал­лель­ны друг дру­гу. Пря­мо­уголь­ность же уг­лов за­ло­же­на в са­мом спо­со­бе раз­ре­за­ния — по пер­пен­ди­ку­ля­рам к ос­но­ва­нию.

Мо­дель мож­но де­лать из дос­ки тол­щи­ной око­ло 10 мм. От­ре­за­е­мые пря­мо­уголь­ные тре­уголь­ни­ки удоб­но со­еди­нять с остав­шей­ся ча­стью тра­пе­ции при по­мо­щи маг­ни­тов: маг­ни­ты нуж­но вста­вить в ка­те­ты тре­уголь­ни­ков, чтобы по­лу­чать ис­ход­ную тра­пе­цию, и в ги­по­те­ну­зы, чтобы по­лу­чать пря­мо­уголь­ник.