Area of a trapezoid. Reducing to the area of a triangle

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 1.5 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 523.3 KB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 1.3 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

Area of a trapezoid with bases of lengths $a$ and $b$ and of height $h$ equals $S=(a+b)/2 \cdot h$. One can make sure of that using the formula for the area of a triangle. To achieve it, the trapezoid should be cut into several pieces that can be rearranged to form a triangle.

Cut the triangle along the line connecting its vertex with the midpoint of the opposite side. Rotate the cut off triangle up to a moment when both bases of the trapezoid are along the same line. Make sure that in this the two halves of the cut side also lie on the same line, so indeed that forms the triangle.

One of the sides of the triangle obtained is as long as the sum of trapezoid's bases' lengths, and the altitude dropped at that side is as long as the trapezoid's height.

One of the methods of finding the area of a triangle is finding the half of a product of a side length and the length of an altitude dropped at that side. Using this method gives the familiar formula for the trapezoid area.

A model can be manufactured from an approximately 10 mm thick wooden board. For the convenience of demonstration, the two parts it was cut into can be attached together with the help of magnets.

Пло­щадь тра­пе­ции. Све­де­ние к пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка

Видео
Скачать
AVI video (768×576, 1.5 МБ)
MP4 video (768×576, 523.3 КБ)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 1.3 МБ)

00:00|00:00

Изображения

Пло­щадь тра­пе­ции с ос­но­ва­ни­я­ми длин $a$ и $b$ и дли­ной вы­со­ты $h$ рав­на $S=(a+b)/2 \cdot h$. Убе­дить­ся в этом мож­но вос­поль­зо­вав­шись фор­му­лой для вы­чис­ле­ния пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка. Для это­го необ­хо­ди­мо раз­ре­зать тра­пе­цию на та­кие ча­сти, из ко­то­рых мож­но со­ста­вить тре­уголь­ник.

Раз­ре­жем тра­пе­цию вдоль ли­нии, со­еди­ня­ю­щей вер­ши­ну с се­ре­ди­ной про­ти­во­по­лож­ной бо­ко­вой сто­ро­ны. По­вер­нём от­ре­зан­ный тре­уголь­ник до то­го мо­мен­та, ко­гда оба ос­но­ва­ния тра­пе­ции ока­жут­ся на од­ной пря­мой. Убе­ди­тесь, что две ча­сти бо­ко­вой сто­ро­ны при этом ля­гут на од­ну пря­мую, то есть, по­лу­чит­ся дей­стви­тель­но тре­уголь­ник.

Од­на из сто­рон по­лу­чив­ше­го­ся тре­уголь­ни­ка име­ет дли­ну, рав­ную сум­ме длин ос­но­ва­ний тра­пе­ции, а дли­на вы­со­ты тре­уголь­ни­ка, про­ве­дён­ной к этой сто­роне, сов­па­да­ет с вы­со­той тра­пе­ции.

Один из спо­со­бов под­счё­та пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка со­сто­ит в на­хож­де­нии по­ло­ви­ны про­из­ве­де­ния дли­ны сто­ро­ны на дли­ну вы­со­ты, опу­щен­ную на эту сто­ро­ну. При­ме­не­ние это­го спо­со­ба и да­ёт при­выч­ную фор­му­лу пло­ща­ди тра­пе­ции.

Мо­дель мож­но сде­лать из дос­ки тол­щи­ной око­ло 10 мм. Для удоб­ства де­мон­стра­ции две ча­сти, на ко­то­рые она раз­ре­за­ет­ся, удоб­но со­еди­нять меж­ду со­бой при по­мо­щи маг­ни­тов.