Dudeny dissection

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 4.3 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 1.6 MB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 3.8 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

What is the minimal number of parts an equilateral triangle should be cut into so that a square can be formed rearranging them? This problem was offered as a challenge to the readers of the Daily Mail newspaper issued as of 1st and 8th February 1905. Among hundreds answers obtained, only one was right: four parts are enough.

How can one guess such a dissection? Take a triangle and a square of equal area and make two regular stripes, repeating each of the shapes. Putting the stripes above one another so that the maximum number of one's side midpoints matches the sides of the other, the desired dissection is obtained. This is in a way a general method of finding dissections of equal area polygons. Solving such problems is the subject of Harry Lindgren's ”Recreational problems in geometric dissections and how to solve them” book.

Dudeney writes: ”I add an illustration showing the puzzle in a rather curious practical form, as it was made in polished mahogany with brass hinges for use by certain audiences. It will be seen that the four pieces form a sort of chain, and that when they are closed up in one direction they form the triangle, and when closed in the other direction they form the square”.

References

Henry Dudeney The Canterbury Puzzles and Other Curious Problems — First ed. 1907.

Harry Lindgren Recreational problems in geometric dissections and how to solve them. — Dover Pubns, 1972.

Раз­би­е­ние Дью­де­ни

Видео
Скачать
AVI video (768×576, 4.3 МБ)
MP4 video (768×576, 1.6 МБ)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 3.8 МБ)

00:00|00:00

Изображения

На ка­кое ми­ни­маль­ное чис­ло ча­стей необ­хо­ди­мо раз­бить рав­но­сто­рон­ний тре­уголь­ник, чтобы из них мож­но бы­ло сло­жить квад­рат? Эта за­да­ча бы­ла пред­ло­же­на чи­та­те­лям га­зе­ты «Дей­ли мейл» Ген­ри Дью­де­ни в вы­пус­ках от 1 и 8 фев­ра­ля 1905 го­да. Сре­ди со­тен по­лу­чен­ных от­ве­тов пра­виль­ным был все­го один: до­ста­точ­но че­ты­рёх ча­стей.

Как же до­га­дать­ся до та­ко­го раз­би­е­ния? Необ­хо­ди­мо взять рав­но­ве­ли­кие тре­уголь­ник и квад­рат, а за­тем со­ста­вить из каж­дой фигу­ры ре­гу­ляр­ную по­лос­ку. На­ло­жив од­ну по­лос­ку на дру­гую так, чтобы мак­си­маль­ное чис­ло се­ре­дин сто­рон од­ной по­ло­сы по­па­да­ло на сто­ро­ны дру­гой по­ло­сы, по­лу­ча­ем ис­ко­мое раз­би­е­ние. Это, в ка­ком-то смыс­ле, об­щий спо­соб на­хож­де­ния раз­би­е­ний рав­но­ве­ли­ких мно­го­уголь­ни­ков. Ре­ше­нию та­ких за­дач по­свя­ще­на книж­ка Г. Линдгре­на «За­ни­ма­тель­ные за­да­чи на раз­ре­за­ние».

Как пи­шет Г. Дью­де­ни: «Все ча­сти мо­де­ли мож­но сде­лать из крас­но­го де­ре­ва, скре­пив их брон­зо­вы­ми шар­ни­ра­ми, дабы её удоб­но бы­ло по­ка­зы­вать в ауди­то­рии. Лег­ко за­ме­тить, что все че­ты­ре ча­сти об­ра­зу­ют нечто вро­де це­поч­ки. Ес­ли за­кру­тить эту це­поч­ку в од­ном на­прав­ле­нии, то по­лу­чит­ся тре­уголь­ник, а ес­ли её за­кру­тить в про­ти­во­по­лож­ную сто­ро­ну, то по­лу­чит­ся квад­рат».

Ли­те­ра­ту­ра

Г. Э. Дью­де­ни. Кен­тер­бе­рий­ские го­ло­во­лом­ки. — М.: Мир, 1979. С. 239—240.

Г. Линдгрен. За­ни­ма­тель­ные за­да­чи на раз­ре­за­ние. — М.: Мир, 1977. С. 62.