Cylinder and a ball weighing

Pictures

When I was questor in Sicily I managed to track down his <Archimedes> grave. The Syracusians knew nothing about it, and indeed denied that any such thing existed. But there it was, completely surrounded and hidden by bushes of brambles and thorns.

I remembered having heard of some simple lines of verse which had been inscribed on his tomb, referring to a sphere and cylinder modelled in stone on top of the grave.

And so I took a good look round all the numerous tombs that stand beside the Agrigentine Gate. Finally I noted a little column just visible above the scrub: it was surmounted by a sphere and a cylinder. I immediately said to the Syracusans, some of whose leading citizens were with me at the time, that I believed this was the very object I had been looking for.

Cicero (106—43 BC), Tusculan Disputations, Book V, Sections 64—66.

Translation by Michael Grant in Cicero — On the Good Life, Penguin Books, New York, 1971, Pages 86—87.

The ball and the cylinder. The cylinder base radius is equal to the ball radius and the cylinder height is equal to the ball diameter. With these dimensions, it is possible to fit the ball into the cylinder.

What is the relationship between the volumes of the cylinder and the ball? How to place these objects on the seesaw scale arms to get them in balance?

It can be verified that relationship of scale arms (arm is the distance from the fulcrum to the point where the weighted object is placed) in equilibrium will be $2:3$. Thus, the ball volume is equal to two thirds of the cylinder volume. Interestingly, the areas of objects’ surfaces are in the same relationship.

It is believed that out of his discoveries, Archimedes most appreciated the finding of the relationship between the volumes of the ball and the cylinder, thereby determining the ball volume.

The formula for a ball volume can be derived from this relationship.

Let’s use a formula for a cylinder volume — product of the cylinder base area by its height. The base area is $\pi \cdot R^2$, cylinder height is $2 \cdot R$, where $R$ is the ball radius. Thus, the cylinder volume is $(\pi \cdot R^2) \cdot (2 \cdot R) = 2 \cdot \pi \cdot R^2$.

Multiplying by the coefficient of $2/3$, we get the formula for the ball volume — $4/3 \cdot π \cdot R^3$.

It is worth considering the possibility of dividing the cylinder into two parts equal in height. If we balance the ball with the cylinder having the height equal to the ball radius, the scale’s arms relation will be exactly $4:3$

Взве­ши­ва­ние ци­лин­дра и ша­ра

Изображения

Ко­гда я был кве­сто­ром, я отыс­кал в Си­ра­ку­зах его <Ар­хи­ме­да> мо­ги­лу, со всех сто­рон за­рос­шую тер­нов­ни­ком, слов­но из­го­ро­дью, по­то­му что си­ра­ку­зяне со­всем за­бы­ли о ней, слов­но ее и нет.

Я знал несколь­ко стиш­ков, со­чи­нен­ных для его над­гроб­но­го па­мят­ни­ка, где упо­ми­на­ет­ся, что на вер­шине его по­став­ле­ны шар и ци­линдр.

И вот, осмат­ри­вая мест­ность близ Ак­ра­гант­ских во­рот, где очень мно­го гроб­ниц и мо­гил, я при­ме­тил ма­лень­кую ко­лон­ну, чуть-чуть воз­вы­шав­шу­ю­ся из за­ро­с­лей, на ко­то­рой бы­ли очер­та­ния ша­ра и ци­лин­дра. Тот­час я ска­зал си­ра­ку­зя­нам — со мной бы­ли пер­вей­шие граж­дане го­ро­да, — что это­го-то, ви­ди­мо, я и ищу.

Ци­це­рон о мо­ги­ле Ар­хи­ме­да в со­чи­не­нии «Туску­лан­ские бе­се­ды». Пе­ре­вод М. Гас­па­ро­ва.

(Цит. по: Ци­це­рон Марк Тул­лий. Из­бран­ные со­чи­не­ния. Пер. с ла­тин. — М.: «Ху­дож. лит.», 1975. С. 342)

Шар и ци­линдр. Ра­ди­ус ос­но­ва­ния ци­лин­дра ра­вен ра­ди­у­су ша­ра, а вы­со­та ци­лин­дра рав­на диа­мет­ру ша­ра. При та­ких раз­ме­рах в ци­линдр мож­но впи­сать шар.

Как от­но­сят­ся объ­ё­мы ци­лин­дра и ша­ра: как нуж­но рас­по­ло­жить те­ла на ры­чаж­ных ве­сах, чтобы они при­шли в рав­но­ве­сие?

Мож­но убе­дить­ся, что от­но­ше­ние плеч (пле­чо — это рас­сто­я­ние от точ­ки опо­ры ве­сов до точ­ки, где рас­по­ло­жен взве­ши­ва­е­мый пред­мет) при рав­но­ве­сии бу­дет рав­но $2:3$. Зна­чит объ­ём ша­ра ра­вен двум тре­тям от объ­ё­ма ци­лин­дра. Ин­те­рес­но, что в том же от­но­ше­нии на­хо­дят­ся и пло­ща­ди их по­верх­но­стей.

Счи­та­ет­ся, что Ар­хи­мед из сво­их от­кры­тий боль­ше все­го це­нил имен­но то, что на­шёл со­от­но­ше­ние меж­ду объ­ё­мом ша­ра и объ­ё­мом опи­сан­но­го во­круг него ци­лин­дра, тем са­мым вы­чис­лив объ­ём ша­ра.

Из это­го со­от­но­ше­ния мож­но вы­ве­сти фор­му­лу для объ­ё­ма ша­ра.

Вос­поль­зу­ем­ся фор­му­лой для объ­ё­ма ци­лин­дра: про­из­ве­де­ние пло­ща­ди ос­но­ва­ния на дли­ну вы­со­ты. В на­шем слу­чае пло­щадь ос­но­ва­ния рав­на $\pi \cdot R^2$, а вы­со­та ци­лин­дра рав­на $2 \cdot R$, где $R$ — ра­ди­ус ша­ра. Зна­чит объ­ём ци­лин­дра ра­вен: $(\pi \cdot R^2) \cdot (2 \cdot R) = 2 \cdot \pi \cdot R^2$.

Умно­жая на ко­эф­фи­ци­ент $2/3$, по­лу­чим фор­му­лу для объ­ё­ма ша­ра: $4/3 \cdot π \cdot R^3$.

В мо­де­ли сто­ит преду­смот­реть воз­мож­ность де­ле­ния ци­лин­дра на две рав­ные по вы­со­те ча­сти. Ес­ли урав­но­ве­ши­вать на ры­чаж­ных ве­сах шар с ци­лин­дром, име­ю­щим вы­со­ту, рав­ную ра­ди­у­су ша­ра, то со­от­но­ше­ние плеч бу­дет рав­но как раз $4:3$.