Conic sections: moiré

Pictures

Printable PDF

All the conic sections (ellipse, parabola and hyperbola) can be obtained as moiré — an additional geometric pattern that is formed by two overlaying images.

Take a transparency film and print straight stripes at a fixed distance between adjacent ones. On another film, print circular stripes (concentric circles) of the same width and with the same distance between adjacent ones.

If we overlay concentric circles with straight lines, one can see a family of parabolas. Every parabola is a chain of opposite vertices of curvilinear quadrilaterals, bounded by adjacent lines and adjacent circles. Shifting the sheets, one can see parameters of the parabola family changing and ponder the position of the directrix and the focus on the basis of the parabola definition.

If one overlays two identical “сircular” sheets, one can see ellipses and intersecting them hyperbolas with common focuses which are the centres of circles. And in this case, too, shifting the sheets helps to spot these curves and track the curves’ parameters change.

Ко­ни­че­ские се­че­ния: му­ар

Изображения

PDF для печати

Все ко­ни­че­ские се­че­ния (эл­липс, па­ра­бо­лу, ги­пер­бо­лу) мож­но по­лу­чить в ви­де му­а­ра — до­пол­ни­тель­но­го гео­мет­ри­че­ско­го узо­ра, об­ра­зу­ю­ще­го­ся при на­ло­же­нии двух изоб­ра­же­ний.

Возь­ми­те «про­зрач­ку» и на прин­те­ре на­пе­ча­тай­те пря­мо­ли­ней­ные по­лос­ки на фик­си­ро­ван­ном рас­сто­я­нии меж­ду со­сед­ни­ми. На дру­гом ли­сте на­пе­ча­тай­те кру­го­вые по­лос­ки (кон­цен­три­че­ские окруж­но­сти) той же ши­ри­ны и с тем же рас­сто­я­ни­ем меж­ду со­сед­ни­ми.

Ес­ли на­ло­жить пря­мые на кон­цен­три­че­ские окруж­но­сти, то мож­но уви­деть се­мей­ство па­ра­бол. Каж­дая па­ра­бо­ла — це­поч­ка про­ти­во­по­лож­ных вер­шин кри­во­ли­ней­ных че­ты­рёх­уголь­ни­ков, огра­ни­чен­ных со­сед­ни­ми пря­мы­ми и со­сед­ни­ми окруж­но­стя­ми. Сдви­гая ли­сты, мож­но и уви­деть из­ме­не­ние па­ра­мет­ров се­мей­ства па­ра­бол, и за­ду­мать­ся над по­ло­же­ни­ем ди­рек­три­сы и фо­ку­са, ис­хо­дя из опре­де­ле­ния па­ра­бо­лы.

А ес­ли на­ло­жить две оди­на­ко­вые «кру­го­вые» про­зрач­ки, то мож­но уви­деть эл­лип­сы и пе­ре­се­ка­ю­щие их ги­пер­бо­лы с об­щи­ми фо­ку­са­ми — цен­тра­ми окруж­но­стей. И в этом слу­чае ше­ве­ле­ние про­зра­чек по­мо­жет и об­на­ру­жить эти ли­нии, и про­сле­дить за из­ме­не­ни­ем па­ра­мет­ров кри­вых.