Share…

And this is a net?!

There is a whole variety of nets for the most usual polyhedra. But is it really possible to fold a regular tetrahedron of this sheet of cardboard?

Unfold the tetrahedron into a traditional net.

Draw a segment connecting a vertex of the the big triangle and the center of the opposite side (which is a vertex of the initial tetrahedron) and cut the cardboard along this segment. Turn a part of the net around the point that represents the vertex of the tetrahedron. Doing that we'll glue two edges, but in the initial tetrahedron they were glued in the same way, so we didn't break the gluing conditions. Now we have an additional part of the border that we'll mark as red.

Let's repeat this operation.

Once again, draw a segment from the corner to the center of the opposite side and Turn and glue. We get the same sheet of cardboard we saw in the beginning of the movie!

Let's make sure that the resulting sheet of cardboard is a net of the initial polyhedron. In the left upper part of the triangle there are pieces that remain unmoved from the beginning. One of the small triangles corresponds to a part of the initial tetrahedron's base. Let's match them.

And now we'll wind the figure round the tetrahedron. As we see, everything matches!

All the segments of the red «false» edges connect the triangles that lie in the same plane, that means that after gluing they will disappear. Those segments that were painted in yellow lie on the edges of the tetrahedron and are the real edges.

The question whether one can fold a convex polyhedron out of the given sheet of cardboard is answered by a theorem of a great Russian mathematician Alexander Danilivich Alexandrov. It is possible to figure out where the future vertices are. But we still don't know how will the real edges go from vertex to vertex. But it is another story for another movie…

References:

N.P. Dolbilin. Pearls in the theory of polyhedra. — M.: MCCME, 2000.

Н. П. Дол­би­лин. Три тео­ре­мы о вы­пук­лых мно­го­гран­ни­ках.
  Часть 1 // Квант. 2001. N 5. С. 7-12.
  Часть 2 // Квант. 2001. N 6. С. 3-10.

Other projects by Mathematical Etudes

Support

И это раз­вёрт­ка?!

Ка­ко­го толь­ко ви­да не бы­ва­ют раз­вёрт­ки са­мых при­выч­ных для нас мно­го­гран­ни­ков. Но неуже­ли из это­го кус­ка кар­то­на мож­но сло­жить пра­виль­ный тет­ра­эдр?

Раз­ло­жим тет­ра­эдр в са­мую при­выч­ную раз­вёрт­ку.

Про­ве­дём от­ре­зок из уг­ла боль­шо­го тре­уголь­ни­ка к се­ре­дине про­ти­во­по­лож­ной сто­ро­ны (вер­шине ис­ход­но­го тет­ра­эд­ра) и раз­ре­жем по нему наш ку­сок кар­то­на. По­вер­нём часть раз­вёрт­ки во­круг точ­ки, от­ве­ча­ю­щей вер­шине тет­ра­эд­ра. При этом мы скле­им два реб­ра, но в из­на­чаль­ном тет­ра­эд­ре они бы­ли ров­но так же скле­е­ны, по­это­му усло­вия склей­ки гра­ниц на­шей раз­вёрт­ки мы не на­ру­ши­ли. Но те­перь у нас до­ба­вил­ся ку­со­чек гра­ни­цы, ко­то­ро­го не бы­ло в ис­ход­ной раз­вёрт­ке. Обо­зна­чим это «фаль­ши­вое» реб­ро крас­ным цве­том.

Да­вай­те по­вто­рим опе­ра­цию ещё раз.

Опять про­ве­дём от­ре­зок из уг­ла к се­ре­дине про­ти­во­по­лож­ной сто­ро­ны и раз­ре­жем по нему. Сде­ла­ем по­во­рот и склей­ку. По­лу­чил­ся тот са­мый ку­сок кар­то­на, с ко­то­ро­го мы на­ча­ли фильм!

Да­вай­те убе­дим­ся, что по­лу­чив­ший­ся ку­сок кар­то­на яв­ля­ет­ся раз­верт­кой ис­ход­но­го мно­го­гран­ни­ка. В ле­вой ча­сти тре­уголь­ни­ка есть кус­ки, ко­то­рые мы не пе­ре­кла­ды­ва­ли с са­мо­го на­ча­ла. Один из ма­лень­ких тре­уголь­нич­ков со­от­вет­ству­ет ча­сти ос­но­ва­ния ис­ход­но­го тет­ра­эд­ра. Сов­ме­стим их.

А те­перь бу­дем «на­ма­ты­вать» на­шу фигу­ру на тет­ра­эдр. Как ви­дим, всё схо­дит­ся!

Все от­рез­ки крас­ных — «фаль­ши­вых» — рё­бер ока­за­лись со­еди­ня­ю­щи­ми тре­уголь­ни­ки, ле­жа­щие в од­ной плос­ко­сти, и, зна­чит, по­сле склей­ки эти рёб­ра про­па­дут. А те от­рез­ки, что бы­ли по­кра­ше­ны в жёл­тый цвет, ло­жат­ся на рёб­ра тет­ра­эд­ра и яв­ля­ют­ся на­сто­я­щи­ми рёб­ра­ми.

На во­прос, мож­но ли из дан­но­го кус­ка кар­то­на сло­жить вы­пук­лый мно­го­гран­ник, от­ве­ча­ет тео­ре­ма ве­ли­ко­го рус­ско­го гео­мет­ра Алек­сандра Да­ни­ло­ви­ча Алек­сан­дро­ва. Где бу­дут вер­ши­ны это­го мно­го­гран­ни­ка, мож­но по­нять. А вот как в об­щем слу­чае меж­ду вер­ши­на­ми прой­дут на­сто­я­щие рёб­ра, ма­те­ма­ти­ки до сих пор опре­де­лять не уме­ют. Но это уже дру­гая ис­то­рия, для дру­го­го Этю­да…

Ли­те­ра­ту­ра

Н. П. Дол­би­лин. Жем­чу­жи­ны тео­рии мно­го­гран­ни­ков. М.: МЦНМО, 2000.

Н. П. Дол­би­лин. Три тео­ре­мы о вы­пук­лых мно­го­гран­ни­ках.
  Часть 1 // Квант. 2001. N 5. С. 7—12.
  Часть 2 // Квант. 2001. N 6. С. 3—10.

Обсуждение (сообщений: 1)

Другие этюды раздела «Внутренняя геометрия многогранников»3

 

Другие проекты фонда «Математические этюды»

При поддержке