Area of a circle. Reducing to the area of a rectangle

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 6.6 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 2.0 MB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 6.3 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

Area enclosed by a circle of radius $R$ is $S = \pi \cdot R^2$. Let's make sure of this, using the ability to calculate the area of a rectangle.

Divide the circle in two halves with its diameter. Divide each half into equal sectors. ”Opening” the halves and inserting one into the other, one gets a shape of the same area that of the initial circle. This shape is almost a rectangle. Almost — because the longer sides are not quite straight. These sides are half the length of the circle long, that is, $\pi \cdot R$. The short side of the shape obtained is exactly as long as the radius of the initial circle. Rectangle area is given by the product of its sides' lengths: $S≈(\pi \cdot R)\cdot R = \pi \cdot R^2$.

We've used the formula for the area of a rectangle, though the shape obtained is not exactly a rectangle, thus the approximate equality sign. It is clear though that if the circle is divided into a larger number of equal parts, the difference from a rectangle would get lesser and lesser. In the limit, the shape wouldn't differ from a rectangle, so this model is not only illustrative, but also quite valid.

The model can be manufactured from wood and a stripe of leather. The latter should be picked of a different color than the wood's, so that the circumference and the rectangle's long sides were clearly distinguishable. In one of the two parts, one sector should be divided in two halves — so that the external pieces were halves of standard sectors. Then the shape obtained would look more like a rectangle when put together, otherwise — like a parallelogram.

Пло­щадь кру­га. Све­де­ние к пло­ща­ди пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка

Видео
Скачать
AVI video (768×576, 6.6 МБ)
MP4 video (768×576, 2.0 МБ)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 6.3 МБ)

00:00|00:00

Изображения

Пло­щадь кру­га ра­ди­у­са $R$ рав­на $S = \pi \cdot R^2$. Убе­дим­ся в этом, вос­поль­зо­вав­шись уме­ни­ем вы­чис­лять пло­щадь пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка.

Раз­де­лим круг диа­мет­ром на две по­ло­ви­ны. Каж­дую из них разо­бьём на оди­на­ко­вые сек­то­ра. «Рас­крыв» по­ло­ви­ны и вста­вив их од­на в  дру­гую, по­лу­чим фигу­ру, по пло­ща­ди рав­ную пло­ща­ди из­на­чаль­но­го кру­га. Эта фигу­ра — по­чти пря­мо­уголь­ник. По­чти — по­то­му что длин­ные сто­ро­ны не со­всем пря­мые. Дли­на этих сто­рон рав­на по­ло­вине дли­ны окруж­но­сти, т.е. $\pi \cdot R$. А дли­на ко­рот­кой сто­ро­ны по­лу­чив­шей­ся фигу­ры — в точ­но­сти ра­ди­ус из­на­чаль­ной окруж­но­сти. Пло­щадь пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка вы­чис­ля­ет­ся пе­ре­мно­же­ни­ем длин его сто­рон: $S≈(\pi \cdot R)\cdot R = \pi \cdot R^2$.

Ис­поль­зо­ва­на фор­му­ла для пло­ща­ди пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка, од­на­ко по­лу­чив­ша­я­ся фигу­ра — не со­всем пря­мо­уголь­ник, по­это­му и  был на­пи­сан знак при­бли­жён­но­го ра­вен­ства. При этом по­нят­но, что ес­ли круг де­лить на боль­шее ко­ли­че­ство оди­на­ко­вых ча­стей, то от­ли­чие от пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка бу­дет всё мень­ше и мень­ше. В пре­де­ле, фигу­ра не бу­дет от­ли­чать­ся от пря­мо­уголь­ни­ка, а зна­чит, та­кая мо­дель не толь­ко на­гляд­на, но и вполне за­кон­на.

Мо­дель мож­но из­го­то­вить из де­ре­ва и по­лос­ки ко­жи. Ко­жу сто­ит под­би­рать от­лич­но­го от де­ре­ва цве­та, чтобы яв­но вы­де­ля­лась окруж­ность в кру­ге и длин­ные сто­ро­ны в по­чти пря­мо­уголь­ни­ке. В од­ной из  по­ло­ви­нок кру­га один из сек­то­ров сто­ит раз­бить на две ча­сти — так, чтобы внеш­ние де­та­ли бы­ли по­ло­вин­ка­ми стан­дарт­ных сек­то­ров. То­гда по­лу­чив­ша­я­ся по­сле сло­же­ния фигу­ра бу­дет боль­ше по­хо­дить на пря­мо­уголь­ник. В про­тив­ном слу­чае — на па­рал­ле­ло­грамм.