Area of a circle. Reducing to the area of a triangle

Video
Download
AVI video (768×576, 9.1 MB)
MP4 video (768×576, 2.1 MB)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 8.7 MB)

00:00|00:00

Pictures

Area enclosed by a circle of radius $R$ is $S = \pi \cdot R^2$. Let's make sure of this, using the ability to calculate the area of a rectangle.

Assemble a circle of concentrically arranged stripes of, say, leather. The external one should be the longest, next one — a bit shorter etc. Lengths should be chosen so that the circle is formed when wrapping a circle. The stripes' ends meet along one radius.

Now unwrap all the stripes at once and the circle turns into almost a triangle. "Almost" — because its legs are not straight lines, but are comprised of steps. Several formulae for finding the area of a triangle are studied at school (and all of them provide the same answer!). Let us use one of those — the area of a triangle equals half of a product of side length (of the base, for example) by the length of its altitude. The base length in our case exactly equals the length of the initial circle's circumference, that is $2 \cdot \pi \cdot R$. The altitude is simply the circle's radius. Thus the area of the shape is $S ≈ (1/2) \cdot (2 \cdot \pi \cdot R) \cdot R ≈ \pi \cdot R^2$.

We've used a formula for the area of triangle, though the shape obtained is not exactly a triangle, that's why the equality is approximate. It is nevertheless clear that if the circle is composed of thinner and thinner stripes, the steps on triangle's legs will be smaller. And in the limit the shape will not differ from a triangle, so the reasoning is quite valid.

Пло­щадь кру­га. Све­де­ние к пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка

Видео
Скачать
AVI video (768×576, 9.1 МБ)
MP4 video (768×576, 2.1 МБ)
В zip-архиве (AVI, 8.7 МБ)

00:00|00:00

Изображения

Пло­щадь кру­га ра­ди­у­са $R$ рав­на $S = \pi \cdot R^2$. Убе­дим­ся в этом, вос­поль­зо­вав­шись уме­ни­ем вы­чис­лять пло­щадь тре­уголь­ни­ка.

Со­бе­рём круг из кон­цен­три­че­ски рас­по­ло­жен­ных по­ло­сок, на­при­мер, ко­жи. Внеш­няя долж­на быть са­мой длин­ной, сле­ду­ю­щая чуть ко­ро­че и т.д. Дли­ну сто­ит под­би­рать так, чтобы при сги­ба­нии по­лу­чал­ся круг. На од­ном из ра­ди­у­сов схо­дят­ся кон­цы по­ло­сок.

Раз­вер­нем од­новре­мен­но все по­лос­ки и круг пре­вра­тит­ся в по­чти тре­уголь­ник. «По­чти», по­то­му что бо­ко­вые сто­ро­ны — не пря­мые ли­нии, а со­сто­ят из сту­пе­нек. В шко­ле про­хо­дит­ся несколь­ко фор­мул для вы­чис­ле­ния пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка (и все они да­ют оди­на­ко­вый ре­зуль­тат!). Вос­поль­зу­ем­ся од­ной из них — пло­щадь тре­уголь­ни­ка рав­на по­ло­вине про­из­ве­де­ния дли­ны сто­ро­ны (на­при­мер, ос­но­ва­ния) на дли­ну вы­со­ты, про­ве­ден­ной к этой сто­роне. Дли­на ос­но­ва­ния в на­шем слу­чае рав­на в точ­но­сти длине окруж­но­сти из­на­чаль­но­го кру­га, т.е. $2 \cdot \pi \cdot R$. А дли­на вы­со­ты есть про­сто ра­ди­ус кру­га. Та­ким об­ра­зом пло­щадь по­лу­чив­шей­ся фигу­ры $S ≈ (1/2) \cdot (2 \cdot \pi \cdot R) \cdot R ≈ \pi \cdot R^2$.

Ис­поль­зо­ва­на фор­му­ла для пло­ща­ди тре­уголь­ни­ка, од­на­ко по­лу­чив­ша­я­ся фигу­ра — не со­всем тре­уголь­ник, по­это­му и был на­пи­сан знак при­бли­жён­но­го ра­вен­ства. При этом по­нят­но, что ес­ли круг де­лать из всё бо­лее тон­ких по­ло­сок, то сту­пень­ки на бо­ко­вых сто­ро­нах бу­дут всё мень­ше. И в пре­де­ле, фигу­ра не бу­дет от­ли­чать­ся от тре­уголь­ни­ка, а зна­чит, та­кое рас­суж­де­ние вполне за­кон­но.